Skip to content

And Then At Night I Paint the Stars

    SOLO HARP, 2*2*2*2  4*3*3*1 Timpani (5 drums), 2 Perc, Piano, Strings, [Percussion Requirements: 2 suspended cymbals (medium-high + high, Vibraphone, Tam-tam, 2 suspended cymbals (medium-low + low) Chimes, Tam-tam, Bass Drum, Glockenspiel, Crotales, Xylop

    Duration: ca. 20 minutes
    Composed: 2002

    Programme Note: And then at night I paint the stars…

    1. Night Sky
    2. Ascent of Ursa Major
    3. Scintillation
    4. Morning Sky

    The concerto falls into a four-movement structure.  The first movement begins with harp alone and is predominantly slow, but with a large emotional and dynamic arc.  The second movement is a fast scherzo, or dance-like movement.  The third movement is the solo cadenza for harp and is actually a little piece on its own.  The fourth movement, like the first, is also predominantly slow.  It begins with a bassoon solo, and also features a duet for flute and harp, and an orchestral chaconne with solo violin that is from an earlier string quartet.

    For the title, I adapted a line from a letter written by Vincent Van Gogh to his brother, Theo.  The letter was written while Van Gogh was working on pieces depicting cafes, night skies, and everyday scenes from his town.  He tells his brother that he d

    Premiere: First performance by Judy Loman and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra Toronto, June 12 + 13, 2002.


    Mvmt 3: Scintillation
    Kelly-Marie Murphy, composer